UCLA » College » Social Sciences » History
Eugen Weber Book Prize Announcement

en français

In January 2020, the Department of History at UCLA will award the inaugural Eugen Weber Book Prize in French History. A prize for the best book in modern French history (post 1815) over the previous two years, this award is named for the eminent French historian Eugen Weber (1925-2007). Professor Weber served on the History faculty at UCLA from 1956 until his retirement in 1993. He was renowned as a teacher and scholar for being able to bring the French and European past to life, whether in magisterial lectures delivered without notes or in his many acclaimed books that covered topics ranging from right-wing elite groups to the peasantry. He had a special interest in French politics and culture at the turn of the 20th century and in the 1930s.

The Eugen Weber Book Prize in French History brings a cash award of $15,000. The Award winner will be announced at the American Historical Association (AHA) annual meeting in January 2020 in New York City. The winning author will be invited to visit UCLA to speak about his or her work and to receive the prize during the spring of 2020.

The Eugen Weber Book Prize committee is made up of one UCLA faculty member and two other members, nominated by the AHA and the Society for French Historical Studies or the Western Society for French History. Books eligible for the 2020 prize are those published in 2017 or 2018. Nomination will be accepted from both authors and publishers, and nominated books may be published anywhere in the world in either English or French.

Please send one copy to each of the committee members at the addresses given below.

Caroline Ford
Weber Book Prize
Department of History
6265 Bunche Hall
Los Angeles CA 90095-1473

Sarah Shurts
History Department
Bergen Community College at the Meadowlands
1280 Wall St. W
Lyndhurst, NJ 07071

Bonnie G. Smith
Department of History
16 Seminary Place Rutgers University
New Brunswick NJ 08901

The deadline for submissions is 15 September 2019.
Questions? Contact Weberbookprize@history.ucla.edu.


2019 Awardee